PLCPD elects officers for the 17th Congress

September 20, 2016

September 20, 2016

The Philippine Legislators’ Committee on Population and Development (PLCPD) general membership elected its Board of Trustees for the 17th Congress, which comprises four senators and nine members from the House of Representatives.

After the general election that ran from 5 to 7 September 2016, the recently elected members of the Board of Trustees met on 14 September to fill specific leadership positions in the organization. The following were elected:
Chair for the Senate: Sen. Risa Hontiveros
Chair for House: Rep. Teddy Baguilat
Vice Chair for the Senate: Sen. Sherwin Gatchalian
Vice Chair for Luzon: Rep. Geraldine Roman
Vice Chair for Visayas: Rep. Sharon Garin
Vice Chair for Mindanao: Rep. Kaka Bag-ao
Secretary: Rep. Tom Villarin
Treasurer: Rep. Emmeline Aglipay-Villar
Adviser for National Legislative and Policy Advocacy: Rep. Pia Cayetano
Adviser for Local Legislative and Policy Advocacy: Sen. Sonny Angara
Adviser for Institutional Sustainability: Sen. Leila de Lima
Adviser for Partnership Building and International Linkages: Sen. Cynthia Villar

Rep. Edcel Lagman was appointed Chair Emeritus, having served the organization for a long time and leading PLCPD during the campaign for the enactment of the Reproductive Health bill.

The oath-taking of new officers and members will be held during the 1st General Assembly for the 17th Congress.